Thursday, March 1, 2018

Chapter 2 - Terms from CWNA to Review

Station (STA) - Any 802.11 wireless addressable unit. This could be a client station *or* an AP.

Basic Service Set (BSS) - The basic building block of an 802.11 wireless network. Composed of at least one Station (STA) that has initiated a service set, and possibly more stations have joined that service set. A BSS is usually initiated by an AP and then joined by client stations.

Basic Service Area (BSA) - The area containing the members of a Basic Service Set (BSS). It may contain members of other BSSs. 

Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) - The 6-12 octet (12 hex characters) MAC address representation that identifies a BSS. A single AP's radio can support multiple BSSs using a unique BSSID for each. 

Independent Basic Service Set (IBSS) - A Basic Service Set (BSS) that forms a self-contained network, and in which no access to a distribution system (DS) is available. IBSS networks also lack a central coordination point, such as an AP. An IBSS is also often called an Ad Hoc or Peer-to-Peer network.

Extended Service Set (ESS) - A set of one or more interconnected basic service sets (BSS)

Distribution System (DS) - A system used to connect LANs and BSSs to create an ESS. This is normally the ethernet network of the company. 

Distribution System Medium (DSM) - The medium used to communicate between APs and portals of an ESS.

Service Set Identifier (SSID) - The network name of a BSS or ESS as known and identified by users.

Portal - The logical point at which the integration service (translation from one format to another) is provided

1 comment:

  1. Great Article
    Cloud Computing Projects

    Networking Projects

    Final Year Projects for CSE

    JavaScript Training in Chennai

    JavaScript Training in Chennai

    The Angular Training covers a wide range of topics including Components, Angular Directives, Angular Services, Pipes, security fundamentals, Routing, and Angular programmability. The new Angular TRaining will lay the foundation you need to specialise in Single Page Application developer. Angular Training